Posted by: baseballmom024 | January 9, 2011

I think I can …I think I can!

I need to keep my running miles steady…..I don’t want to fall too far behind….so I decided I would run 3 miles tonight…got up on there and before I knew it I was at 3.5 miles and thought, ok I will just run to 4…. 4 came and went and I was at 4.2….my hubby was going to run after me so I decided I better stop at 4.5 so I did and 700 calories burned.  As I finished I was reminded of the question of the day earlier this week about thinking you can’t.  I am very bad at getting on the treadmill and just saying I will run 2 miles and when I get to the 2 miles I am dead and ready to get off.  I need to work hard on changing my mindset…it’s just I have never been a runner and never really enjoyed running and my body believes what my mind is telling it..right?

Now, was it fun…hum….intervals can be fun from time to time…but the verdict is still out!  🙂

 

Responses

  1. Nice Job On the 4.5 miles. Just running a 5K kills me!

    I agree with your mindset that if you get on the treadmill to run 2 miles you are working to get to just the 2 miles and you are spent when you are done. If you just go out and run without any preset distance then you see just how much further you push yourself.

    You are well on your way to defeating your run goals, great job.

    Capt’n

    • Thanks Captdhd, I really have to set my mind into a different mindset when I run…I don’t know why I always say i can only run 2 miles…I am working to overcome that or I won’t make my goal!

  2. Mind control – mind over matter – its all in your head. A 1000 sayings for the same thing – our expectations control our results.

    Me – Running is boring so I limit myself to Intervals for 20 minutes – HITT is better than LISS (Low Intensity Steady State.) 😉

    TNT Man

    • Exactly!!!!! I am with you…running is soooooooooooooo boring….I do intervals the whole time too…the problem is I have to go on and on to get my miles needed for my challenge with the King of Running…SixGz’s! LOL!


Leave a Reply

Categories

