Posted by: baseballmom024 | January 18, 2009

DOESN’T GET MUCH BETTER THAN THIS….

Well, hubby had been planning our bike ride up in the Napa Valley for a couple of weeks now.  I was excited to get back on my bike as I haven’t been on it since probably mid October.  Was a little nervous as he had a bit of a ride planned but I was up for it!  Kids were one at an Aunt’s house and the other at a friends so that made it nice.  Neither one of them is ever up for a ride and certainly not this one!

We left for Napa about 9:30 AM got up there around 10:40…headed out, it was beautiful, sunny and about 62 when we started.  I am one who is always cold so didn’t wear my biking shorts (big mistake) , originally had on an underarmour with biking jersey over and a sweatshirt, off with underarmour immediately.

We rode what is called the Silverado Trail, beautiful, forgot I was actually riding…so many bikers on the road ..the perfect day for it!!!  We rode the first 14 miles and then stopped at a little deli which was packed!  Ordered a couple of bbq chicken sandwiches, some yogurt/green onion chips and peach ice tea.  Sat outside and enjoyed our lunch!  Then back on the bikes to finish our loop which ended up at 25.2 miles.  Can’t believe how great I felt!  My right knee was beginning to hurt a little but nothing bad.  I was shocked to have rode as far as we did in the time we did and was not worn out.  As we got into the car, I checked the temperature..75 degrees…are you kidding, this is January.  Really now….it doesn’t get much better than that does it????

I now understand the importance of continueing to workout.  I truly believe that all the running and HIIT I have been doing has kept me in bike riding shape.  In the past, not riding for several months has really caused me much pain and disappointment when I get back on the bike.  This was a great surprise.

Now, we hope to plan some future fun rides with each other on the weekends we get a break from dance and baseball/basketball!

This will be a tough one to beat!!!

I am sure I will sleep well tonight!!!  🙂

Responses

  1. bbm, sounds like you’ve made one great transition to all around fitness. I’m jealous of you biking around… of course we had a heat wave here Sunday with our 36 degrees!
    Enjoy the weather for me!

  2. Happy for you – jealous of the temperature. Fit is good – when you want to do something – you can. Keep it going – it is not just about lifting another weight or reaching a speed doing HIIT – it is about being Fit and able to do what you want.

    TNT Man

  3. Those are the kind of stories I like to hear.


Leave a Reply

Categories

