Posted by: baseballmom024 | July 14, 2008

WOW! More work to do! July 14, 2008

I jumped back on the treadmill this evening after not running in several weeks, I had been doing alot of biking, one because it is something my husband and I can do together, and two because I was in the mini challenge with Pittspilot and had to get more bang for my buck! WOW!!!! Tonight getting on the treadmill really was tough…I ran HIIT for the first 15 minutes which was about 1.2 miles…I was dripping wet and dead tired. I then rested for 5 minutes, which is what the NROL suggests you do and then got back on and ran my steady pace to 3.1 miles. This was a challenge for me…until I got to about 2.2 miles..then it felt great….now sitting here, my legs are very tired and I so am I!

I guess I learned something….. you have to stick with something in order to not regress….I know that it won’t take long to get back to where I was…I did end up running that distance in about 35 minutes..which I felt wasn’t too bad considering I always walk for warm up for about 2 minutes and then ran my HIIT also.

It is going to be tough to get up in the mornings and run…but that is my goal..to get back to running a couple miles in the morning! Then I can spend my evenings on the bike if I wish.

Responses

  1. HIIT then steady state – impressive, but not surprising after all the bike riding you do. I do 20 minutes of HIIT. 3 min warm up, then 2 min all out, then 3 min slower pace and recycle, ending with 3 min cool down. Goal is to get my heart rate up to 95% of maximum, speed & incline are only a means to an end. When I am finished – takes another 5-10 minutes before I can even think about the Core workout and I am sweating. To then go and do steady state for another 20 minutes – WOW. Keep up the great work you are one trooper.


Leave a Reply

Categories

