Posted by: baseballmom024 | February 2, 2008

February 2, 2008 – Exercising and loving it!

Well, today started out very early for me..up at 5 am (I am not a morning person and especially on the weekends) and out of the house by 6:30 to go to my daughter’s dance competition in Sacramento.  She is doing so awesome, this is her first year of competitive dance, second competition and scoring high scores.  I am so proud of her, she works so hard!  We were at the competition for 7 hours…7 hours of watching dance…gets really tiring!  Got home at 5:30 and both hubby and I were dead tired, thought about watching a movie but not sure if we would make it through it awake..so I jumped on the treadmill instead.  Don’t know how I did it but I found a second wind.  I decided to run a little different then I have in the past, usually I try to run against the clock…this time after warming up with a slow jog at 4 mph, I jumped up to 7 mph for about 3 minutes, then back down to between 4 and 5 for about a minute, then up to 6 or 7 mph for 3 minutes.  Sometimes I stayed at a lower mph for a little longer if my legs were really tired..but I really loved this, made the running much more interesting and I wasn’t ready to stop until I finished.  Did take me 50 minutes to run the 4 miles, but I feel like I got a great workout and I burned 600 calories..yipppeeeeeeeee!  Gotta love that!

I will probably take the day off tomorrow as we have a Superbowl party to go to..have figured a cheat for the afternoon, however will not go overboard!  Lot’s of veggies!

Responses

  1. HIIT – high intensity interval training has been shown to burn more calories as it ramps up the metabolism more so than just a slower steady pace. sounds like that’s what you were doing – nice work!

  2. Wow! 7mph. That’s pretty impressive after 7 hours of dance competition!!! I’ve only made it to 6.5 but now I have something to shoot for. Have a great bowl day!

  3. Hi, I am very impressed you had the dedication to jump on that treadmill instead of watching a movie. WTG!

  4. 4 miles in 50 minutes it’s just fine on the tread. I think that’s a good 5.5 if you were running outside. 600 calories..you go!


Leave a Reply

Categories

